Cinco de Mayo

Cinco de Mayo means “Fifth of May” in Spanish, and is a celebration of the Mexican victory at the Battle of Puebla, May 5, 1862. The Mexican army, led by General Ignacio Zaragoza, won the battle even though the French force was three times as large and better equipped. Cinco de Mayo is celebrated in Mexico, and has become a popular heritage celebration in the United States.

Cinco de Mayo Recipes

Books and articles about Cinco de Mayo

The following articles are only available to users of NOBLE member libraries. For home access, you will need to enter your library barcode.