Witch Dungeon Museum
The Witch Dungeon Museum is located at 16 Lynde St.
Featuring live reenactments and a tour of a dungeon, this museum teaches people about life in the late 1600s as witch hysteria swept through the area. Other exhibits include a recreated village and gallows.
Tours daily from April through November.
Built as a chapel in 1897, the building was built for the East Church (First Church Society) on a lot that formerly held the Chamberlain residence. "The style of architecture was known as "Stick Style" and was characterized by its decorative wood trim on the outside that emphasized the underlying building's structure", according to Jerome Curley on Salem Patch.
The building was later used by The First Church of Christ (Scientists) until 1980 when the building was sold and opened as the Witch Dungeon Museum.
- Witch Dungeon Museum Museum website
- Then & Now: 16 Lynde St - from Chapel to Witch Dungeon Jerome Curley on Salem Patch
- Salem's Lynde Street has rich history" (letter to the editor) Salem News, Jan. 15, 2015