- The Paramount was a French-Renaissance-style property opened on April 19, 1931 at 180 Essex Street with seating for 2,200. The furniture was Louis XV, the color scheme a blend of ivory, blue, coral green and gold. The seats were upholstered in green figured mohair. The walls of the theater were adorned with eight enormous mural "in the style of Fragonard, Watteau and Boucher."
- A big attraction was the 16 ton pipe organ (with 1,400 pipes) just one of nine made for theaters by the Wurlitzer Company and was used for sing-alongs between double features. Some of the live performers by Ted Lewis, Louis Armstrong and Chico Marx.
- 1940 saw the world premier of the 20th Century Fox film, The House of Seven Gables.
- The Paramount's popularity began to decline in the 1950's and was closed in 1970 then torn down in 1971, at the height of the urban renewal phase to make way for the new indoor mall. The pipe organ was sold for $5,500 to a restaurant in Seattle Washington called "Pizza and Pipes."
- Vertical File in Salem Collection - Salem Theaters
- "Paramount Theatre" Salem Evening News, Apr. 17, 1930.
- "Of Paramount Importance" Salem Evening News, Sept. 29, 1999. p. A3
- "Million dollar Paramount Theatre built exclusively for talkies" Salem Evening News, June 3, 1971. p.28
- "Salem Realty Co. Builders of New Paramount" Salem Evening News, April 17, 1930.
- "Capacity audience witnessed opening of playhouse" Salem Evening News, April 20, 1930, p. 1
- "Paramount Falls-and Nostalgia Rises" Salem Evening News, June 2, 1971. p1
- "Salem Paramount organ has permanent home in Seattle suburb" Salem Evening News, Mar. 8, 2010, p.5
- "Paramount shuts its doors; renewal claims gilded home of a million dreams" Salem Evening News, Mar. 5, 1970, p.1