The structure, located at 209 Essex Street, was originally owned by the Naumkeag Clothing Co. (later called the Newmark building) and built in 1895 on Essex Street. Part of the Pickman-Derby block, the building has a facade with a classical cornice and pilasters.
Newmark's, a department store that had its heyday during the time of the original Almy's and L.H. Rodgers, was owned by Joseph and Abe Newmark.
The building was purchased in 2015 to be reused and remodeled as a boutique hotel. It will open in early 2017.
It will be a 44-room boutique hotel complete with rooftop bar, a ground-floor restaurant, and shuffleboard in the basement. The Hotel Salem will join The Merchant as the second Salem hostelry to be operated by Lark
Hotels, which manages a string of unique properties in New England and California.
- Vertical File in Salem Collection - Newmark Building
- Hotel Happening Streets of Salem blog
- "Newmark Building to get a new old look" Salem Evening News, Jan. 5, 2000, p. A3
- Architecture in Salem by Bryant F. Tolles,Jr., p. 85